Not for Everyone

One of my favorite things about essential oils… there are many of them to choose from. A second favorite being, all essential oils have similar properties and characteristics to another. Which works out so great for me.  If I’m running low or have ran out of a particular EO, I usually have another EO that will work in it’s place for the time being. For ex: I can use Wild Orange in place of Lemon for making DIY all purpose sprays, or Roman Chamomile in place of Lavender to help soothe irritations to the skin. Another reason why I love that EO’s share similar properties/characteristics, not every essential oil is going to do for one person as it can for someone else. Meaning… Lavender may help aid in your ability to relax and unwind from the day, but have little effect on your friend who wants to do the same.
My sister (Lisa, my fellow and co-creator of TheOilStash) loves and swears by Vetiver eo, for promoting feelings of calmness and grounding herself a bit.  Vetiver is a tall deep rooted grass, sustain-ably grown in parts of Haiti. It has a very smoky earthly aroma. I tend to love the more earthy smells and flavors over the floral, sort of perfumery smells. (personal preference).

For whatever reason, the aroma of vetiver gives me the nastiest headache. I am not even joking, it is bad, almost migraine bad.  The first time I smelled vetiver, I received a sample of it from an EO oil class I attened. I put a drop in each wrist, a little bit into the class after trying the oil, I started to get a headache. I did not attribute my headache to having sampled the Vetiver. My headache got so bad, I went straight to bed as soon as I got home for the class. By the next morning the headache had subsided. Later in the day I brought out my dram sample to show and share with my husband. A short while later I realized I had that same headache back and I could smell the vetiver on my fingertips. I ended up giving my dram sample to Lisa, thinking maybe it was triggering my headaches, but still was not 100% sure. Several months later Lisa and I a 15ml bottle of Vetiver to keep in inventory for TheOilStash. I opened the the bottle after it arrived in and gave a little smell. Within minutes it triggered a headache.  I decide to cease any interaction with vetiver and take a bit of caution when fulfilling orders that included vetiver, as I do not want to trigger the onset of a headache.

Fast forwrad into Summer… Call me crazy…. I have been doing some research into the zodiac signs and how different eo’s play on a person. In a blend for Virgos, a recipe called for vetiver. Because it was in a blend, I thought maybe it would not have the same affect. NOPE not the case for me and vetiver! The Virgo blend smelled amazing! I loved it!!! I put it on my wrists every few hours all day long! That evening and into the next day, I had the most blinding, pounding, want to pull the hair from my scalp to make it stop, headache!!  OK FINALLY! That was enough for me! Gave my Virgo blend to my sister!! No more vetiver!

I may now have shined negative light on Veitver and that is not my intention.  Vetiver is an amazing essential oil, loved for its calming feelings it promotes! As I said, my sister swears by it and recommends it to anyone that’s having sleep issues. For me, I use oils like lavender, bergamot, cedar wood, for sleep.  My point is, every essential oil has a personality, if you will, and not every personality works for and gets along with every person!! THANK GOODNESS for all the choices in EO’s!  Do yourself a favor. Try them all!! Try different oils for sleep, respiratory support, immune protection, soothe over worked muscles, cleansing aids, etc! Do not be afraid to get creative and see what combos you can come up with for diffusing! Learn what oils work for you and your family and what oils don’t. Do not assume because maybe one oil does not work for you, that none of them will work.

 

Disclaimer: Any posts related to matters affecting human health on our blog site is provided for informational purposes and is the result of our research and practical experience. No information should be considered as a “substitute for advice provided by your own trusted medical professional”, nor is any information intended to “promote diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevent of any disease”. You should not use any information on our blog site for diagnosing or treating a health issue or disease. Consult your most trusted health care professional in regard to the personal use, or non-use, of any health-related products.

Leave a Reply

